Another week, another episode of True Blood.

True Blood It’s the very last season of this sex-crazed, obsessed-with-gore-and-gruesome-details show, and as a long standing Truebie I’m enjoying every second of the HBO hit!

I’ve never read the books and I don’t plan on doing so but boy, did that author have an imagination.

Seven seasons is a respectful number, especially when it comes to science fiction and fantasy. Most shows are lucky to make it past four. Back in the day (!) Buffy was where we got our vamp thrills from and that was also a seven season wonder.

Another favourite of mine, is Supernatural and the incredibly handsome Winchester boys. CW are about to roll out season ten in the autumn, to a very loyal following of fans. On Twitter, they (we) refer to themselves (ourselves) as the #SPNFamily. It’s a real cult hit, and after ten years- they must be doing something right!

Whilst we’re on the subject of TV, I may as well divulge the rest of my obsessions –The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, Mad Men (also in it’s last season), New girl, the recently wrapped How I Met Your Mother and I’m not afraid to admit it- Hart of Dixie.

There are a lot of talented writers and performers out there right now; creating some of the best entertainment we’ve ever seen. For me, watching these shows helps me escape from day-to-day life and wind down after a long day… or week.

Escapism is one of my favourite words and it certainly applies to all of the above.

Author: Rachel

Communications Exec by day, TV show addict by night. Fighting #LymeDisease 24/7. Postgraduate student at Brunel University, writing my way to a Master's degree in Creative Writing.

Leave a Reply

