The world has lost some laughter

Earlier in the week I was struggling to sleep and I lay awake for what felt like hours so I thought I’d see what was going on with Facebook and Twitter.

It was the very early hours of Tuesday morning and the first status I came across was from an old work friend, he was expressing his sadness at the passing of Robin Williams.

I had hoped it was a mistake like so many other random “this celebrity has died” rumours, so I headed over to the Twitter-sphere to see if it was true, and of course it was.

Millions of people across the globe are feeling just like me, very sad. Robin’s family have lost a husband and father, and we have lost one of the most talented, interesting and funny actors to have ever graced our screens.

Several weeks ago I was watching the advertising-agency-based comedy TV show (try saying that three times fast) The Crazy Ones, and it is just so good! I loved it and kept telling my other-half how he was missing out on some classic Robin Williams’ comedy.

With Robin as joint partner at the Chicago based ad agency and several other names including Sarah Michelle Gellar (as his daughter), the TV show had enough talent, humour and quality content to give Big Bang a run for it’s money. Unfortunately not everyone agreed and the show was cancelled after one season, I was so disappointed! I though Netflix should have bought it!

Anyway I distinctly remember saying that Robin was a living legend and that when he did eventually pass away (due to old age) I would be super upset.

And here we are… he chose to end his own life but there’s an important message there. Depression and mental health problems are things that can affect anyone, it doesn’t discriminate, no matter how much money you have or how many people you have to support you.

It can take people to really dark places, where hope doesn’t exist and the ability to think logically is taken away.

When suicide is the topic of conversation, the word ‘selfish’ and the phrase ‘easy way out’ get thrown around a lot. The fact is, that for many people suicide feels like the only way out and they feel like they just can’t live anymore.

A few years a go we lost a family member to suicide and as much as we all felt like he had things to live for, he didn’t agree. I often think that it would have been selfish of us to convince him to live when he was so desperate to make the pain end, when he genuinely didn’t want to live anymore.

But suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem and in most cases, if people could just hold on that little bit longer, things really could be better.

Author: Rachel

Communications Exec by day, TV show addict by night. Fighting #LymeDisease 24/7. Postgraduate student at Brunel University, writing my way to a Master's degree in Creative Writing.

Leave a Reply

