Transparency

Transparency, it's time to talkFor many years, I like many others, have been living with mental health problems. It has at times taken over my day-to-day life, and at my lowest point, summoning the energy to shower was a big win.

I feel confident in saying that I have been through the worst of my depression and that now, when it makes an unwelcome appearance I have the experience and attitude to deal with it.

Depression often brings with it a few ‘friends’ and for me it was a host of extra anxiety issues and the big one- Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.

There are lots of people out there doing what they can to end the stigma surrounding mental health difficulties, so I’m pledging to be more transparent about my own.

My mental health problems aren’t the only things that make me, me. Which is why I’m not going to go into detail here about my mental health experiences, that would need a whole blog of it’s own. I will however, be sure not to purposefully avoid mentioning it when blogging about myself in future.

It’s time to talk, it’s time to change.

Author: Rachel

Communications Exec by day, TV show addict by night. Fighting #LymeDisease 24/7. Postgraduate student at Brunel University, writing my way to a Master's degree in Creative Writing.

Leave a Reply

