Creative Writing: The Novel

As a part of my MA at Brunel University, we are required to produce a piece of creative writing each week for our module, Elements of Fiction.

Our first assignment was to write 1200 words on an open topic that was voiced by two or more characters who were connected to each other within the story. I decided to explore something within the roman-à-clef genre. This is where a story is based on real people or events but with a change of name or location.

Missing

I wonder where the cat is? He has usually shown his face by now. Did I see him this morning? Yeah, I’m sure I did. Wait. What day is it? It’s Friday. So was it today I gave him his eye drops or was that yesterday? I don’t know. It all seems to blur into one.
I hear the familiar sound of Mark’s car coming towards the driveway. We live at the bottom of a hill in a cul-de-sac. It’s a strange set-up but not unusual for the area. Our kitchen window looks out onto the road and sure enough there he is, swinging the car into the driveway. I always worry that he’ll hit Rufus if he doesn’t pay more attention. But Rufus is still nowhere to be seen.

Download the pdf “missing” to continue reading.

 

Author: Rachel

Communications Exec by day, TV show addict by night. Fighting #LymeDisease 24/7. Postgraduate student at Brunel University, writing my way to a Master's degree in Creative Writing.

Leave a Reply

